New Year Agenda

Reading challenge accepted?

To close out the year, I’ve challenged our book club members to complete one more final book to reach our goal of 11 books read for the year. It doesn’t matter if it is a 100-page book we’ve already started and are on page 89. As long as you finish, you’ve met our goal. Well, that said… I have started to read a book that I had purchased on Kindle a while back called Never Have I Ever by Joshilyn Jackson. To be honest, my motivation to purchase this book was that I was intrigued by the book cover. It wasn’t suggested by a friend, in a book tok or on bookstagram. I didn’t even read the book summary. Who says the halo effect isn’t real? To be honest, it’s December 24th (Christmas Eve) and I have read only read 7% of the book.

I’ve made this promise to myself and the book club, and I have every intention of finishing this book. Hopefully, over the weekend. My husband happens to be off on Monday for the Holiday, so I plan to milk him for time spent with our one-year-old. In fact, once I wrap up writing this post, I plan to get back to it. Although it’s 10:45pm, I feel pretty awake and ready for a good thriller/suspense to umm… thrill me.

So far, I’m 72 pages in and I’m already invested in the main characters. The authors’ character build is pretty impressive. I’ve so far determined who I’ve taken a liking to and who I’ll need to gain more information as I read on because they seem peculiar related to the drama that’s already unfolding. It’s already quite captivating, but I won’t give out any spoilers here. I’ll surely be ready to discuss at our first book club meeting of the new year.

Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment